Highlights

Here we present you our most important art objects. It is a selection of our range and a tribute to our professionalism and persistent work. All objects shown here are no longer available.

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermuehle eminent table lamp by Moritz Hacker Vienna

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

This incredible lamp with a glass shade will be well known to many collectors of Loetz glasses. In several books and catalogues copies of this model have been illustrated, and with good reason. In an almost perfect symbiosis of glass, metal and gemstones, Moritz Hacker created an iconic object of Viennese Art Nouveau in Vienna around 1900. The workmanship and design are exceptionally good and of a very high quality. The gilded faces of the ladies in combination with the golden yellow glass shade by the Loetz manufactor make this object appear almost mystical and sacred. A sensational object, which we were reluctant to let go.

  • pewter, silvered, gilded, moonstones
  • glass, mouth-blown, reduced and iridescent

pair of vases, Johann Loetz widow Klostermühle, school of Koloman Moser

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

The World Exhibition in Paris in 1900 was a turning point in the Loetz company history. At this fair, the Loetz company was honored with the “Grand Prix”, the world’s highest award for arts and crafts. The Viennese painter Franz Hofstötter played a major role in the success of the company. It is thanks to his ingenious designs of forms and decorations that Loetz’s glasses were so enthusiastically received at the world exhibition. The design of this decoration variant has safely beeen matched to the pen of Franz Hofstötter. Examples of this decoration were also proven to have been exhibited at the World Exhibition in Paris in 1900 and at the winter exhibition of the ÖMKI in 1900/1901. Robert Holubetz, the most famous student of Koloman Moser, was responsible for the design of the shape. This vases represent an important chapter in the art-historical history of Austria and are a jewel for any glass collection.

  • Franz Hofstötter and Robert Holubetz (school Koloman Moser)
  • Decor Phenomenon Genre 358
  • higned on the bottom Loetz Austria
  • height 28,5cm, diameter 9cm

Franz Hofstötter, Loetz, vase, world exhibition Paris 1900, signed

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

One of the most important designers of the glassworks Johann Loetz-Witwe Klostermühle was the Viennese painter Franz Hofstötter. A large part of the company’s success at the World Exhibition in Paris in 1900 is due to his designs for decorations and forms. For these wonderful creations Loetz was also awarded the “Grand Prix” at the World Exhibition in Paris, the highest and most important award for arts and crafts in the world at that time. Loetz vases from this period are today among the most sought-after objects of Viennese Jugendstil.

  • glass, mouth blown and iridescent
  • product no. 406
  • sign. Loetz Austria

Josef Hoffmann, gold-plated bracelet, Wiener Werkstätte, ca. 1910, Viennese Jugendstil

Wiener Werkstätte

Today, jewellery objects of the Wiener Werkstätte are among the most expensive objects of Viennese Jugendstil and are extremely rare and in great demand. Especially bracelets take a special position. Few surviving examples can be found in museums today, more often in private ownership. In addition, there is a comparatively small number of this type of jewellery, as is impressively demonstrated in the archive of the Wiener Werkstätte in the Museum of Applied Arts: only 30 bracelets are published here by photograph, Josef Hoffmann is responsible for only 15 drafts as a designer.

  • bracelet
  • silver, gold plated
  • driven and soldered
  • around 1910.
  • diameter 6 cm 2.4 "

Candlestick

Wiener Werkstätte

Silver objects of this size from the Wiener Werkstätte and with a production date after 1920 are a rare sight. This slender, impressive design by Josef Hoffmann was produced between 1928 and 1930. The soldered joints on the stand of the chandelier show exactly the quality of craftsmanship of the Wiener Werkstätte. Each socket of the candelabra is stamped with the “WW” signet and the control mark ” Wiedehopf Kopf” for silver. Another example of this candelabra is in the permanent exhibition of the MAK “Wien 1900”.

  • design Josef Hoffmann
  • production Wiener Werkstätte
  • silver, chased and fine soldered
  • around 1928.
  • 32cm / 17,5cm

Werkstätte Hagenauer Vienna enamelled table mirror Franz Hagenauer 1930s

Werkstätte Hagenauer

This table mirror with a hand and woman’s face is one of the most important designs from this period. The absolute reduction and the strongly reduced expression as well as the almost geometrical hand position are evidence of the revolutionary genius of the brothers Karl and Franz. The execution of the mirror is one of the highest quality works that we have ever had the pleasure of examining with objects by the Werkstätte Hagenauer. This object is certainly one of the most important and rarest figurative pieces by Hagenauer.

  • table mirror
  • design 1930s
  • brass nickel plated, chased and mirror polished, enamelled
  • height 59cm, width 30cm

A pair of heads

Workshop Hagenauer Wien

Among the most important works of Franz Hagenauer are without doubt the unmistakable depictions of human heads. Over the years, Hagenauer consolidated his style and the representations continued to develop until the 1980s. These two sculptures of a man and a woman date from this late period. Also a two-dimensional representation of human heads was not executed by Hagenauer until the 1980s. According to a statement by the last master craftsman of the Hagenauer company, these two heads were only executed once.

  • brass, polished
  • around 1980
  • height 60 cm, width 41 cm, depth 15 cm

6 rare wine glasses designed by Otto Prutscher 1908 Wiener Werkstätte Meyr's Neffe

Jugendstil

The design of these wine glasses dates from around 1907, one of the most creative periods of Prutscher’s career. As a pupil of Josef Hoffmann and Franz Matsch, he was responsible for many designs of the Wiener Werkstätte and Viennese residential buildings. The combination of square ornaments on the stem and in the cupola is typical of Prutscher’s designs. The glasses were extremely complex to make and a six-piece set of these wine glasses is a very rare find on the market.

  • Design Otto Prutscher
  • execution Meyr's nephew, Adolf bei Winterberg, commission sale by the Wiener Werkstätte through the publisher E. Bakalowits Söhne
  • around 1908.
  • glass, mouth-blown, cut and ground, coloured
  • H: 21 cm, DM: 8 cm

Segantini

Paintings, drawings and prints

Giovanni Segantini is considered one of the most important representatives of realistic symbolism and is often mentioned in the same breath as painters such as Edvard Munch, Vincent Van Gogh or Arnold Böcklin. Especially his landscape paintings enjoy an excellent reputation among collectors. Today, works by Giovanni Segantini are exhibited in major museums around the world, such as the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Kunsthaus Zürich, the Kunstmuseum Basel, the Neue Pinakothek in Munich or the Belvedere in Vienna. Our flower still life shows the absolutely unmistakable painting technique and colour composition for Segantini and was celebrated as a sensation by the Italian specialist press.

  • painted by Giovanni Segantini
  • oil on canvas
  • verso confirmed as genuine by the artist's son

Armchair designed by Josef Urban for the 1st exhibition of the Hagenbund 1901

Furniture

This armchair was one of four identical pieces of furniture for the Hagenbund room at the VIII. International Art Exhibition in the Munich Glass Palace. On a contemporary illustration these four pieces of furniture are grouped around a column. After the exhibitions, the four armchairs became the private property of another member of the Hagenbund. The rose ornamentation was an essential design factor of the dining room in the villa of the painter Alexander Demetrius Golz and the frieze painted by Goltz himself shows exactly the same ornaments as the armchair. Noteworthy about this object are the elegant, clear lines and the clear affinity to works from the circle of the Glasgow School of Applied Arts around 1900. Such an object is a museum-like witness to one of the most important art epochs of our time.

  • design Joseph Urban
  • version 1901 for the department of the Hagenbund at the VIII. International Art Exhibition in the Munich Glass Palace
  • ornamentation retrofitted for the interior of the Villa Alexander Goltz, Vienna XIX, Hohe Warte, Grinzingerstraße 87, after the demolition of the Villa Goltz private collection in Vienna
  • maple wood, stained, original fabric cover, brass

Highlights

Hier präsentieren wir Ihnen unsere bedeutendsten Kunstobjekte. Es ist ein Querschnitt unseres Angebotes und eine Auszeichnung unserer Professionalität und ausdauernden Arbeit. Alle hier gezeigten Objekte sind nicht mehr erhältlich.

Johann Loetz-Witwe Klostermühle bedeutende Tischleuchte Moritz Hacker Wien

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

Diese besondere Lampe mit Glasschirm wird vielen Sammlern der Gläser der Firma Loetz gut bekannt sein. In mehreren Büchern und Katalogen wurden Exemplare dieses Modells abgebildet, und das mit gutem Grund. In einer fast perfekten Symbiose aus Glas, Metall und Schmucksteinen hat Moritz Hacker in Wien um 1900 ein ikonisches Objekt des Wiener Jugendstils kreiert. Verarbeitung und Entwurf sind außergewöhnlich gut und qualitativ sehr hochwertig. Die vergoldeten Gesichter der Damen in Kombination mit dem goldgelben Glasschirm der Firma Loetz lassen diesen Gegenstand fast mystisch-sakral erscheinen. Ein sensationeller Gegenstand, den wir nur ungern gehen ließen.

  • Zinn, versilbert, vergoldet, Mondsteine
  • Glas, mundgeblasen, reduziert und irisierend

Vasenpaar, Johann Loetz-Witwe Klostermühle

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

Die Weltausstellung im Jahr 1900 in Paris war ein Wendepunkt in der Firmengeschichte von Loetz. Auf dieser Veranstaltung wurde die Firma Lötz mit dem „Grand Prix“, der weltweit höchsten Auszeichnung für Kunsthandwerk, geehrt. Der Wiener Maler Franz Hofstötter hatte an dem Erfolg der Firma Johann Lötz-Witwe Klostermühle einen großen Anteil. Seinen genialen Entwürfen von Formen und Dekorationen ist es zu verdanken, dass die Gläser von Loetz auf der Weltausstellung begeistert aufgenommen wurden. Der Entwurf dieser Vase konnte gesichert der Feder von Franz Hofstötter zugeordnet werden. Exemplare dieser Vase wurden ebenfalls nachweislich auf der Weltausstellung in Paris im Jahr 1900 ausgestellt sowie auf der Winterausstellung des ÖMKI 1900/1901. Diese Vase repräsentiert einen wichtigen Abschnitt in der kunsthistorischen Geschichte Österreichs und ist ein Schmuckstück für jede Glassammlung.

  • Franz Hofstötter und Robert Holubetz (Schule Koloman Moser)
  • Dekor Phänomen Genre 358
  • Am Boden signiert Loetz Austria
  • Höhe 28,5cm, Durchmesser 9cm

Franz Hofstötter, Loetz, Vase, Weltausstellung Paris 1900, signiert

Johann Loetz Witwe Klostermühle

Einer der wichtigsten Entwerfer der Glashütte Johann Loetz-Witwe Klostermühle war der Wiener Maler Franz Hofstötter. Ein Großteil des Erfolges der Firma Loetz auf der Weltausstellung in Paris im Jahr 1900 sind seinen Dekor- und Formentwürfen zu verdanken. Für diese wundervollen Kreationen wurde Loetz auf der Weltausstellung in Paris auch der „Grand Prix“ verliehen, die damals höchste und wichtigste Auszeichnung für Kunsthandwerk auf der ganzen Welt. Loetzvasen aus dieser Zeit zählen heute zu den begehrtesten Objekten des Wiener Jugendstils.

  • Glas, mundgeblasen und irisiert
  • Prod. Nr. 406
  • Sign. Loetz Austria

Josef Hoffmann, vergoldetes Armband, Wiener Werkstätte, ca. 1910, Wiener Jugendstil

Wiener Werkstätte

Schmuckobjekte der Wiener Werkstätte gehören heute zu den weltweit teuersten Objekten des Wiener Jugendstils und sind äußerst selten und gefragt. Gerade Armbänder nehmen hierbei eine Sonderstellung ein. Wenige erhaltene Exemplare befinden sich heute in Museen, häufiger in Privatbesitz. Dazu kommt eine vergleichsweise niedrige Auflage dieses Schmucktypus wie man im Archiv der Wiener Werkstätte im Museum für angewandte Kunst eindrucksvoll vermittelt bekommt: nur 30 Armbänder sind hier per Foto veröffentlicht, für nur 15 zeichnet sich Josef Hoffmann als Entwerfer verantwortlich.

  • Armband
  • Silber, vergoldet
  • Getrieben und verlötet
  • Um 1910
  • Durchmesser 6 cm 2.4"

Kerzenleuchter

Wiener Werkstätte

Silberobjekte dieser Größe nach 1920 produziert von der Wiener Werkstätte sind ein seltener Anblick. Dieser schlanke, beeindruckende Entwurf von Josef Hoffmann wurde zwischen 1928 und 1930 produziert. Bei den gelöteten Verbindungsstellen am Stand des Leuchters kann man ganz genau die handwerkliche Qualität der Wiener Werkstätte erkennen. Jede Tülle des Leuchters ist punziert mit dem „WW“ Signet und der Steuerpunze „Wiedehopf Kopf“ für Silber. Ein weiteres Exemplar dieses Kerzenleuchters befindet sich in der Dauerausstellung des MAK „Wien 1900“.

  • Entwurf Josef Hoffmann
  • Produktion Wiener Werkstätte
  • Silber, getrieben und feinverlötet
  • Um 1928
  • 32 cm / 17,5 cm

Werkstätte Hagenauer Wien Tischspiegel Emailliert Franz Hagenauer 1930er

Werkstätte Hagenauer

Dieser Tischspiegel mit Hand und Frauengesicht gehört zu den bedeutendsten Entwürfen aus dieser Zeit. Die absolute Reduktion und der stark reduzierte Ausdruck sowie die fast schon geometrische Handhaltung zeugen von dem revolutionären Genie der Brüder Karl und Franz. Die Ausführung des Spiegels gehört zu den qualitativ hochwertigsten Arbeiten die wir bei Hagenauer je begutachten durften. Dieses Objekt ist mit Sicherheit eines der wichtigsten und seltensten figuralen Stücke von Hagenauer auf der ganzen Welt.

  • Tischspiegel
  • Entwurf 1930er
  • Messing vernickelt, getrieben und spiegelpoliert, emailiert
  • Höhe 59 cm, Breite 30 cm

Ein Paar Köpfe

Werkstätte Hagenauer Wien

Zu den bedeutendsten Werken von Franz Hagenauer gehören zweifelsohne die unverkennbaren Darstellungen von menschlichen Körpern. Hagenauer festigte seinen Stil über die Jahre immer weiter und die Darstellungen entwickelten sich bis in die 1980er immer weiter fort. Aus dieser Spätzeit stammen diese beiden Skulpturen eines Mannes und einer Frau. Auch eine zweidimensionale Darstellung von menschlichen Körpern wurde bis in die 80er Jahre von Hagenauer nicht ausgeführt. Laut einer Aussage des letzten Werksmeisters der Firma Hagenauer wurden diese beiden Köpfe nur ein einziges Mal ausgeführt.

  • Messing, poliert
  • Um 1980
  • Höhe 60 cm, Breite 41 cm, Tiefe 15 cm

6 seltene Weingläser Entwurf Otto Prutscher 1908 Wiener Werkstätte Meyr's Neffe

Jugendstil

Der Entwurf dieser Weingläser stammt aus der Zeit um 1907, einer der kreativsten Epochen von Prutscher. Als Schüler von Josef Hoffmann und Franz Matsch zeichnete er sich für viele Entwürfe der Wiener Werkstätte und Wiener Wohnhausanlagen verantwortlich. Die Kombination von quadratischen Ornamenten am Stiel und in der Kuppa ist typisch für Prutschers Entwürfe und waren ausgesprochen komplex in der Herstellung. Ein sechsteiliges Set dieser Weingläser ist eine ausgesprochene Seltenheit auf dem Markt.

  • Entwurf Otto Prutscher
  • Ausführung Meyr’s Neffe, Adolf bei Winterberg Kommissionsverkauf durch die Wiener Werkstätte durch den Verleger E. Bakalowits Söhne
  • Um 1908
  • Glas, mundgeblasen, geschnitten und geschliffen, gefärbt
  • H: 21 cm, DM: 8 cm

Segantini

Gemälde, Zeichnungen und Drucke

Giovanni Segantini gilt als einer der bedeutendsten Vertreter des realistischen Symbolismus und wird oft in einem Atemzug mit Malern wie Edvard Munch, Vincent Van Gogh oder Arnold Böcklin genannt. Vor allem seine Landschaftsbilder genießen bei Sammlern einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. Heute sind Werke von Giovanni Segantini in großen Museen der Welt wie im Metropolitan Museum of Art, im Kunsthaus Zürich, im Kunstmuseum Basel, in der Neuen Pinakothek in München oder im Belvedere in Wien ausgestellt. Unser Blumenstillleben weist die für Segantini absolut unverkennbare Maltechnik und Farbkomposition auf und wurde von der italienischen Fachpresse als Sensation gefeiert.

  • Gemalt von Giovanni Segantini
  • Öl auf Leinwand
  • Verso vom Sohn des Künstlers als echt bestätigt

Sessel Entwurf Josef Urban für die 1. Ausstellung des Hagenbundes 1901

Möbel

Dieser Sessel war einer von vier identen Stücken für den Raum des Hagenbundes auf der VIII. Internationalen Kunstausstellung im Münchner Glaspalast. Auf einer Zeitgenössischen Abbildung sind diese vier Möbelstücke um eine Säule gruppiert. Diese Rosenornamentik war ein wesentlicher Gestaltungsfaktor des Speisezimmers und der von Goltz selbstgemalte Fries zeigt exakt die gleichen Ornamente wie der Sessel. Bemerkenswert sind an diesem Objekt die elegante, klare Linienführung und die klare Verwandtschaft zu Arbeiten aus dem Umkreis der Kunstgewerbeschule Glasgow um 1900. Solch ein Objekt ist ein musealer Zeitzeuge einer der bedeutendsten Kunstepochen unserer Zeit.

  • Entwurf Joseph Urban
  • Ausführung 1901 für die Abteilung des Hagenbundes auf der VIII. Internationalen Kunstausstellung im Münchner Glaspalast
  • Ornamentik nachträglich angebracht für das Interieur der Villa Alexander Goltz, Wien XIX, Hohe Warte, Grinzingerstraße 87, nach dem Abriss der Villa Goltz Privatsammlung in Wien
  • Ahornholz, gebeizt, originaler Stoffbezug, Messing